Forum

Start new topic
page 1/2 go to

Edible Freshwater Fish (create a list please)

spudhead
by spudhead
Hi Everyone,

This is my first post here, so apologies if this sounds a bit simple.

I'm thinking about catching some freshwater fish to eat.
(I'm a beginner at that too)

I'm wondering, apart from the obvious fly fishing for trout, was is edible in our UK canals, pools and rivers.

I've read about Pike in another post. So thanks for that.

I'm interested in what I can catch locally without paying to go to one of the trout farm in my area. Free is always best

Feel free to create a list. Thanks
last edited on
quixote_1
by quixote_1
There are a lot of technically edible fish in lochs & rivers. I'm not a coarse fisherman, so I wouldn't have any idea as to whether it's acceptable to remove them though. Especially in the case of managed fisheries. However, to answer your question literally, the most commonly eaten fish are..................

Bream
Carp
Perch
Pike
Zander
Salmon
Trout
Grayling
Seatrout
Eels......................all edible (and quite delicious, from all accounts.)

Barbel
Tench
Chubb..................I've been told are completely inedible (not poisonous, just unpleasant)

Other species (roach, dace, rudd, etc) I can't help with, I'm afraid.................
spudhead
by spudhead
thanks for the quick reply quixote_1

I've just read somewhere that you need a licence for freshwater fishing.

Is that true for all freshwater fishing?
Even trapping eels in a stream ?
Celtic Mike
by Celtic Mike
You will need a rod license to fish on any fresh water and in addition you may well need another license to fish on rivers and certainly canals if there are established fishing rights. If you fish on a stream it may well be privately owned so again you would need a licence or permit or you would be poaching.

Its always best to ask first to make sure.
Moose
by Moose