Questions

Everyone needs a little help now and again. The River Cottage Questions section allows you to put your poser in front of the world's most knowledgable foodie online community, so whatever it is - fire away!

Ask a question
Helper of the week
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Latest questions | Your questions
Displaying 1 - 1 of 1 questions

I’m a vegetarian and so do my up most to avoid eating animal rennet and gelatine products. Earlier today I nearly purchased a feta cheese that clearly stated it was made from genetically modified rennet. On further investigation on the coop supermarket website I am pleased that in fact coop have made the choice to clearly label their products, however, I am a little concerned that I have obviously been consuming GM rennet for a number of years through purchasing vegetarian cheeses.

Researching a little more I found out that for a number of years supermarkets have developed the use of GM rennet in their cheeses. An article by Raymond Blanc highlights in fact that there is little choice of vegetarian non GM rennet products.
http://www.caterersearch.com/blogs/raymond-blanc-le-blog/2010/06/gm-is-creeping-into-our-kitchens.html

My question is how on earth have supermarkets got away with supplying us with GM products without having to label clearly the fact its GM. I always thought this was a legal requirement, is this not true anymore?

Also, does anyone know of any alternative non GM rennet cheeses and where they can be purchased?

It seems crazy that only a few years ago, we were all demanding no GM food in our supermarkets but yet, with the pressure off, supermarkets are quite obviously feeding the nation with GM food without labelling it, but no one seems very concerned about it.

Answer or View Answers

, , , , , , , ,
Ask a question
@rivercottage
Login or Sign-up

Login & Sign-up

Forgotten your password? Retrieve it here
Or connect via Facebook
Connect with Facebook
Join River Cottage
Close
Shopping basket: 0 items £0.00