Everyone needs a little help now and again. The River Cottage Questions section allows you to put your poser in front of the world's most knowledgable foodie online community, so whatever it is - fire away!Ask a question
Hi all, my 12 year old son has recently decided to become a vegetarian. We've been looking for a 12-year-old-friendly book which will explain, in a way he will understand, that he must continue to eat proteins (even if he choses not to eat meat) as he is still growing. He is away at boarding school (his choice, the rat) and it is a nut-free environment so I can't send him in with those. Pasta, rice, potatoes and veg are great but I am worried that he won't help his rapidly growing body if he takes in no protein. Please, please can anyone out there help a slightly desperate mum and suggest a book which might interest and educate him? Thank you very much
I have heard that Hugh has a new programme on the tv about vegetarianism... have also heard that the menus were a bit crap!!! Would love to contribute if i could, have a dream of setting up a vegetarian/organic cafe/restaurant - I know its easy to say, but all my friends, vegetarian and otherwise, love my dinner parties, would just like to chat to Hugh about fabulous dishes! Have been a vegetarian for 30 years now!
Its taken me 2 years but I am now reasonably confident that cheese made with vegetarian rennet makes me unwell. I am not a vegetarian, so have been able to work out that cheeses such as parmesan, real mozarella and, (huge leap forward) cheddar that does not say it is suitable for vegetarians, are OK.
By unwell, I mean bloating, itchy rash and spots. Nothing serious but on the other hand, quite wearing, especially over a long period.
It is too long a story to explain here how I arrived at GM Vegetarian rennet - though I'm willing to bore anyone who wants to listen - but cutting it out has stopped the problems. It might extend to all vegetarian rennet but as this has only arisen over the last 3 years or so I suspect the rise of GM rennet, hence the question.
I do have to thank the Raymond Blanc Le Blog, repeated in a different question on this site - http://www.rivercottage.net/questions/food/3685/ - for putting the final pieces of jigsaw in place.
This would have more serious implications for vegetarians, who clearly couldn't try alternatives, only try and find out the source of any vegetarian rennet.
Does anyone else think they might have similar issues?
I’m a vegetarian and so do my up most to avoid eating animal rennet and gelatine products. Earlier today I nearly purchased a feta cheese that clearly stated it was made from genetically modified rennet. On further investigation on the coop supermarket website I am pleased that in fact coop have made the choice to clearly label their products, however, I am a little concerned that I have obviously been consuming GM rennet for a number of years through purchasing vegetarian cheeses.
Researching a little more I found out that for a number of years supermarkets have developed the use of GM rennet in their cheeses. An article by Raymond Blanc highlights in fact that there is little choice of vegetarian non GM rennet products.
My question is how on earth have supermarkets got away with supplying us with GM products without having to label clearly the fact its GM. I always thought this was a legal requirement, is this not true anymore?
Also, does anyone know of any alternative non GM rennet cheeses and where they can be purchased?
It seems crazy that only a few years ago, we were all demanding no GM food in our supermarkets but yet, with the pressure off, supermarkets are quite obviously feeding the nation with GM food without labelling it, but no one seems very concerned about it.